Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated.

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Site Sponsor Forums - In Alphabetical Order > MR FPV

MR FPV FORD & FPV ONLY Website Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-10-2016, 02:38 AM   #1
Mechan1k
Moderator
Donating Member1
 
Mechan1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kenthurst
Posts: 33,157
Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. 
Default Alpine Roof DVD/screen in SZII

G'day,

will the Alpine units used in the SZ's be fine to use in the SZII's. I am presuming it just connects up the same way (as vehicle looms would surely be the same).

Just wanted to know prior to purchasing one that's all.

Cheers
Simon
Mechan1k is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-10-2016, 03:45 AM   #2
wodahs
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
wodahs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: perth
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: Alpine Roof DVD/screen in SZII

If you dont have one std you don't have the loom not only that but apparently there is also a controlling. Module that sits in behind the speedo cluster that's been removed
There are threads about this and the fitting up and seems same for both alpine and non alpine units
__________________
should think of selling my 02 explorer V8 now I got a new ts sz mk2 awd territory

and yes still (as money n time permit) doing the

rebuild the fairlane of thrones - zh with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually
http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z...psnxbpq9kp.png

just remember don't be afraid to try something new.
Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 22-10-2016, 10:58 AM   #3
Magna
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
Magna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 769
Default Re: Alpine Roof DVD/screen in SZII

in the process of upgrading my SZII TS to Titanium spec, there are a number of parts that aren't compatible between SZ and SZII including the dash loom.

the Alpine DVD unit only requires power to run but sound will only play through the headphones. If you get the aftermarket Alpine version they have a built in FM transmitter which Ford seem to have disabled.

I've got the SZII Titanium dash, floor and roof looms but haven't had a change to have a good look at them. I'm installing the DVD player, memory seats, chromatic mirror and rain sensing wipers.

SZII Titanium illuminated window switches are a direct plug in though!
Magna is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
2 users like this post:
Old 22-10-2016, 03:53 PM   #4
Mechan1k
Moderator
Donating Member1
 
Mechan1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kenthurst
Posts: 33,157
Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. 
Default Re: Alpine Roof DVD/screen in SZII

The main addition i want is the DVD player ... and my kids are 3 and 7 ... and don't like headphones. If I get aftermarket Alpine the only issue I am going to have is getting the roof surround to mate to the headlining.

FM modulator would work sufficiently though for my uses. Might go that route.
Mechan1k is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-10-2016, 05:19 PM   #5
wodahs
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
wodahs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: perth
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: Alpine Roof DVD/screen in SZII

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechan1k View Post
The main addition i want is the DVD player ... and my kids are 3 and 7 ... and don't like headphones. If I get aftermarket Alpine the only issue I am going to have is getting the roof surround to mate to the headlining.

FM modulator would work sufficiently though for my uses. Might go that route.
when I enquired at my local alpine dealer they informed me that they could supply the surround and the unit they would supply would be better than the ford alpine unit and cheaper , been a while but from memory think he quoted around the 900 mark supply and fit (bout ten months ago)
and that they can wire it so as not to draw power needlessly at times not in use as apparently the ford alpine can do when not in use and neither is the car (also had read that on this forum somewhere for some reason when car is locked and left the dvd can stay active and flatten the battery , from my understanding)
__________________
should think of selling my 02 explorer V8 now I got a new ts sz mk2 awd territory

and yes still (as money n time permit) doing the

rebuild the fairlane of thrones - zh with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually
http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z...psnxbpq9kp.png

just remember don't be afraid to try something new.
Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 15-06-2017, 11:54 PM   #6
malazn mafia
Boss 335
 
malazn mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,952
Default Re: Alpine Roof DVD/screen in SZII

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magna View Post
in the process of upgrading my SZII TS to Titanium spec, there are a number of parts that aren't compatible between SZ and SZII including the dash loom.

the Alpine DVD unit only requires power to run but sound will only play through the headphones. If you get the aftermarket Alpine version they have a built in FM transmitter which Ford seem to have disabled.

I've got the SZII Titanium dash, floor and roof looms but haven't had a change to have a good look at them. I'm installing the DVD player, memory seats, chromatic mirror and rain sensing wipers.

SZII Titanium illuminated window switches are a direct plug in though!
Interesting project there , always wondered if it's possible to merge SZII and FG-X looms to create an Territory XR6 Turbo RWD. Would be a really special vehicle. The SY Turbo doesn't quite cut it with its circa 2002 interior.
malazn mafia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Other than what is legally copyrighted by the respective owners, this site is copyright www.fordforums.com.au
Positive SSL