Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated.

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2018, 02:15 AM   #61
Vnhon1
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Replacing the USB hub is easy. Not plug and play though. You'll need to solder 2 wires (refer to my sync 3 post for exact soldering instructions) Unless the Falcons have the same connectors as the new hub but I highly doubt it.
__________________
2016 Ford Ranger XLT
Vnhon1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-04-2018, 05:40 PM   #62
nc_fairlane
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 172
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by malazn mafia View Post
How did you get CarPlay working in that screenshot then ?
I Replaced the media hub with a Sync 3 one
nc_fairlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 09-04-2018, 10:25 PM   #63
nc_fairlane
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 172
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Guy's in the middle of writing up some info on the upgrade. I'll be posting this in the FG-FGX page.
nc_fairlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
6 users like this post:
Old 10-06-2018, 09:50 PM   #64
martied
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Sorry to jump in on this post.

I am trying hard to find a way to change my sync 2 2016 wildtrak to a sync3 or even better a after market solution but no one around the gold coast seems to know what to do or how to do it
martied is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-06-2018, 10:03 PM   #65
vztrt
IWCMOGTVM Club Supporter
Donating Member1
 
vztrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern Suburbs Melbourne
Posts: 17,679
Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by martied View Post
Sorry to jump in on this post.

I am trying hard to find a way to change my sync 2 2016 wildtrak to a sync3 or even better a after market solution but no one around the gold coast seems to know what to do or how to do it
Alpine seem to have a solution....very pricey.

https://www.alpine.com.au/shop/perfe...x208au-ranger/
__________________
Daniel
vztrt is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-06-2018, 01:24 AM   #66
Vnhon1
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by martied View Post
Sorry to jump in on this post.

I am trying hard to find a way to change my sync 2 2016 wildtrak to a sync3 or even better a after market solution but no one around the gold coast seems to know what to do or how to do it
I am located in the Gold Coast and can help you.
__________________
2016 Ford Ranger XLT
Vnhon1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-06-2018, 07:36 AM   #67
martied
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by vztrt View Post
Alpine seem to have a solution....very pricey.

https://www.alpine.com.au/shop/perfe...x208au-ranger/
I wish it doesn't work on Wildtrak model alpine reps tell me and the retail stores
martied is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-06-2018, 07:37 AM   #68
martied
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vnhon1 View Post
I am located in the Gold Coast and can help you.
Really? I pm my number
martied is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-06-2018, 09:23 AM   #69
vztrt
IWCMOGTVM Club Supporter
Donating Member1
 
vztrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern Suburbs Melbourne
Posts: 17,679
Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by martied View Post
I wish it doesn't work on Wildtrak model alpine reps tell me and the retail stores
I assume its only for sync 1 systems.
__________________
Daniel
vztrt is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-06-2018, 11:54 AM   #70
Vnhon1
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Default Re: Sync 2 upgrade to Sync 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by martied View Post
Really? I pm my number
Yep. I've done a full upgrade from sync 2 to sync 3 on my 2016 ranger!
__________________
2016 Ford Ranger XLT
Vnhon1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Other than what is legally copyrighted by the respective owners, this site is copyright www.fordforums.com.au
Positive SSL