Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated.

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Club and Speciality Forums > Forum Community Car Clubs > AU Falcon.com.au

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2024, 02:36 PM   #1
Reaper8
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
Reaper8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: out of sight from the kids & wife
Posts: 866
Default power window switch

Hi all have had nothing but problems with my windows since ive had the car. new switches, new motors and had enough. has anyone done a switch change to something like a set of fg switches ect.
Reaper8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2024, 09:24 PM   #2
TICKXR
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Question Re: power window switch

Hi All, strange issue with au ute power window.
Passenger side window works fine unless it is opened fully , then it will stop and nothing will make it move and go back up.
Pretty sure motor, switches, fuses etc not at fault because it I leave it come
try again the next day , window goes up and works fine , as long as I dont go
full down .
Seems like after at least 12 hrs is needed and all back to normal??
Any ideas appreciated
TICKXR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2024, 09:56 PM   #3
mad2
Regular...with metamusal
Donating Member2
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Geeeloong
Posts: 5,756
Default Re: power window switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper8
Hi all have had nothing but problems with my windows since ive had the car. new switches, new motors and had enough. has anyone done a switch change to something like a set of fg switches ect.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TICKXR
Hi All, strange issue with au ute power window.
Passenger side window works fine unless it is opened fully , then it will stop and nothing will make it move and go back up.
Pretty sure motor, switches, fuses etc not at fault because it I leave it come
try again the next day , window goes up and works fine , as long as I dont go
full down .
Seems like after at least 12 hrs is needed and all back to normal??
Any ideas appreciated

Hi. possibly the switch/es have a heap of carbon in them causing the issues?. they need to be cleaned & some carbon grease [? i think that's what it's called] applied to contacts [i never did it to the AU and havn't yet needed to with the BA/BF]. also the glass binding when going up/down can cause some issues. and yes i had issues in 'Ol yella [AU wagooon] with the switches.
mad2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2024, 10:45 PM   #4
T3rminator
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
T3rminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,778
Default Re: power window switch

My driver switch was playing up, unresponsive sometimes, then responsive again.

On a hunch, I removed all the pins from the connector socket, sprayed them with electronics parts cleaner, put them back in (make sure you remember which pin goes where!!...taking a photo helps), and the problem was fixed.

If you suspect its the switch itself, you can get them from ebay for like under $20. I've had 2 cheapies from ebay and they work fine.

Forget trying to open them up and clean the inside....I tried that once and all these little pieces fell on my lap, and I had no idea how to put them all back. :P



If you know what you are doing, you could try put them back. I couldn't get the buttons to click up or down no matter how I put them back!
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
T3rminator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
2 users like this post:
Old 13-02-2024, 08:26 PM   #5
mad2
Regular...with metamusal
Donating Member2
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Geeeloong
Posts: 5,756
Default Re: power window switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3rminator View Post
My driver switch was playing up, unresponsive sometimes, then responsive again.

On a hunch, I removed all the pins from the connector socket, sprayed them with electronics parts cleaner, put them back in (make sure you remember which pin goes where!!...taking a photo helps), and the problem was fixed.

If you suspect its the switch itself, you can get them from ebay for like under $20. I've had 2 cheapies from ebay and they work fine.

Forget trying to open them up and clean the inside....I tried that once and all these little pieces fell on my lap, and I had no idea how to put them all back. :P

image

If you know what you are doing, you could try put them back. I couldn't get the buttons to click up or down no matter how I put them back!


try the AU ones.......
mad2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2024, 09:25 PM   #6
T3rminator
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
T3rminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,778
Default Re: power window switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by mad2 View Post
try the AU ones.......
AU switch housing looks different. How would you get them to sit on the BA door handle?
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
T3rminator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2024, 02:16 PM   #7
mad2
Regular...with metamusal
Donating Member2
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Geeeloong
Posts: 5,756
Default Re: power window switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3rminator View Post
AU switch housing looks different. How would you get them to sit on the BA door handle?

on this page we are talking AU not BA/BF
mad2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
2 users like this post:
Old 14-02-2024, 02:44 PM   #8
T3rminator
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
T3rminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,778
Default Re: power window switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by mad2 View Post
on this page we are talking AU not BA/BF
Woops. Sorry OP. I completely missed the section. Definitely go with AU for AU switch
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
T3rminator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 15-02-2024, 03:14 PM   #9
chinamonty
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Dandenong Victoria
Posts: 173
Default Re: power window switch

with AU window switches (not the main controller) they are fairly easy to fix. The problem they have is the nylon actuator wears. If this happens then just put a bad of model cement in the metal contact so it is built up a little. Otherwise just buy new ones - they are not expensive. I keep a rebuilt one in the glovebox for emergencies.
chinamonty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
2 users like this post:
Old 15-02-2024, 05:31 PM   #10
Uncle_Ken
Next upgraded Mk1 Leopard
Donating Member1
 
Uncle_Ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney, in the burbs
Posts: 4,897
Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always putting some imput into the forums to help or make it a bit easier for others Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 
Default Re: power window switch

AU's can fix anything
__________________
Plastic Surgery 1 AUII Monsoon Blue
Plastic Surgery 2 AUIII XR8 220 Rebel
Plastic Surgery 3 Watch this space ??? Living in AU Heaven
How 2's: Change rear view mirror, Install backfire valve, Change foam front seats, Install auto transmission cooler, Replace Trans Shift Globe, Remove front door Trim, Paint AU headlights, install door spears, Premium Rear Parcel Shelf, go here...
Uncle_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
2 users like this post:
Old 15-02-2024, 07:08 PM   #11
chinamonty
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Dandenong Victoria
Posts: 173
Default Re: power window switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3rminator View Post
My driver switch was playing up, unresponsive sometimes, then responsive again.

On a hunch, I removed all the pins from the connector socket, sprayed them with electronics parts cleaner, put them back in (make sure you remember which pin goes where!!...taking a photo helps), and the problem was fixed.

If you suspect its the switch itself, you can get them from ebay for like under $20. I've had 2 cheapies from ebay and they work fine.

Forget trying to open them up and clean the inside....I tried that once and all these little pieces fell on my lap, and I had no idea how to put them all back. :P

image

If you know what you are doing, you could try put them back. I couldn't get the buttons to click up or down no matter how I put them back!

Its not hard to put them in place. they pivot on the H brass part that sticks up from the pcb. The ends then have to touch the round silver pads so that gives you the orientation.
chinamonty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
3 users like this post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Other than what is legally copyrighted by the respective owners, this site is copyright www.fordforums.com.au
Positive SSL