Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated.

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Escort, Cortina, Sierra and Capri

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2015, 10:42 AM   #1
V1nn1e72
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 22
Default Cruise Control

Evening all,
I am wanting to put a Cruise Control in my Mk2 Escort (Ghia) and was wondering what is recommended. I drive my car a lot and highway driving is awesome (So many thumbs up :P). Any info will help.
__________________
Everyone has bad days. The cure is to drop it down a gear, put the foot to the floor and flick out the tail end.
V1nn1e72 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2015, 07:11 PM   #2
foxtrot3
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
foxtrot3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,298
Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical articles. 
Default Re: Cruise Control

Hi. You can go a couple of ways, basic vacuum type system from command is an "AP60" but on a 4 cyl you may need a vacuum tank ( http://www.tcag.com.au/products.html?c=65 )( http://www.tcag.com.au/products.html?c=67 ) or a motor driven type like the command AP500 ( http://www.tcag.com.au/products.html?c=66 ). It would also need the magnet pick-up speed pulse kit (see link above) and a control switch is an extra (need to choose one of 3) The motor driven type is a restricted sale unit as if it is not set up correctly it can cause damage to the unit and the car but it works well on cars with little vacuum (4 cyl engines needing wide throttle openings to maintain highway speeds may not have enough vacuum to keep the cruise working. Other brand is Autostrada ( http://www.autostrada.com.au/cruise-control-cable.html ) for the same type of thing but the switches (stalk or pad) dont seem as nice to use as the command units. Cheers MD
__________________


HI

I'M MICHAEL

2003 ACID RUSH BA FUTURA WAGON

light up window switches | auto on cruise control | doubleclick window lift from remote
foxtrot3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2015, 09:34 AM   #3
V1nn1e72
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 22
Default Re: Cruise Control

Thank you for the info, I was wondering if you cold just retrofit a cruise control from a newer model escort. I don't think you but I can't see why not.
__________________
Everyone has bad days. The cure is to drop it down a gear, put the foot to the floor and flick out the tail end.
V1nn1e72 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Other than what is legally copyrighted by the respective owners, this site is copyright www.fordforums.com.au
Positive SSL