Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated.

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Site Sponsor Forums - In Alphabetical Order > Crescent Motor Sport

Crescent Motor Sport Specialising in all Early and Late model Ford Performance. Website Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-05-2013, 07:08 PM   #1
Franco Cozzo
Misanthropist
Donating Member3
 
Franco Cozzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentry Victoria
Posts: 36,221
Default CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

Hey guys, I bought a CMS Stage 3 head with a stage 2a cam and she idles a bit rough.

It revs up and down every few seconds from 750 to 1000 then back down, then it will do it again maybe 10 seconds or so later.

The car has been tuned, and it has a new idle speed control valve and map sensor.

Do I need any mods to anything?

Thanks much.
Franco Cozzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-05-2013, 09:20 AM   #2
joe@cms
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

Hi Mate,

Was the car tuned with the head and cam on it or before?
joe@cms is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-05-2013, 01:23 PM   #3
Franco Cozzo
Misanthropist
Donating Member3
 
Franco Cozzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentry Victoria
Posts: 36,221
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

With the head and cam
Franco Cozzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-05-2013, 02:03 PM   #4
joe@cms
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

Ok, I'm guessing it was done with an eliminator chip or similar, That being the case the first thing you need to do is remove the chip and see how it runs without it as the 2a cam was designed to work and idle nicely with the factory ecu!

If it still hunts at idle then you need to check things like your TPS voltages as this is the main cause of hunting problems and go from there.

Thanks.
joe@cms is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-05-2013, 11:20 PM   #5
Franco Cozzo
Misanthropist
Donating Member3
 
Franco Cozzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentry Victoria
Posts: 36,221
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe@cms View Post
Ok, I'm guessing it was done with an eliminator chip or similar, That being the case the first thing you need to do is remove the chip and see how it runs without it as the 2a cam was designed to work and idle nicely with the factory ecu!

If it still hunts at idle then you need to check things like your TPS voltages as this is the main cause of hunting problems and go from there.

Thanks.
Thanks mate, was doing it even without the chip, its tuned with a TI Performance J3, to run on 98.

I'l check out the TPS voltages, its on the throttle body right?
Franco Cozzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-05-2013, 09:26 AM   #6
joe@cms
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Damo View Post
Thanks mate, was doing it even without the chip, its tuned with a TI Performance J3, to run on 98.

I'l check out the TPS voltages, its on the throttle body right?
Yes mate its on the side of the throttle body, Another thing you can look at too is the MAP sensor as that can also cause over fuelling etc.

Cheers.
joe@cms is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-05-2013, 05:56 PM   #7
Franco Cozzo
Misanthropist
Donating Member3
 
Franco Cozzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentry Victoria
Posts: 36,221
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe@cms View Post
Yes mate its on the side of the throttle body, Another thing you can look at too is the MAP sensor as that can also cause over fuelling etc.

Cheers.
Thanks Joe, I just recently replaced the map sensor, I'll check resistance values and voltages, most likely its something simple
Franco Cozzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2013, 08:10 PM   #8
Franco Cozzo
Misanthropist
Donating Member3
 
Franco Cozzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentry Victoria
Posts: 36,221
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

Hey Joe, I'm going ahead with a bottom end rebuild, is this head and cam package suitable for a mild forced induction setup? I'm looking no more than 200KW at the rears.
Franco Cozzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2013, 11:11 PM   #9
joe@cms
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

yes that will be fine, we've had & other guys as well with the same head & cam combo (depending on the rest of the hareware) over 220 rwkw on low boost

cheers
joe
joe@cms is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 26-06-2013, 06:48 PM   #10
Franco Cozzo
Misanthropist
Donating Member3
 
Franco Cozzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentry Victoria
Posts: 36,221
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

I'm looking to keep it under 200KW at the rears, could we achieve that limit through tuning?
Franco Cozzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2013, 09:25 AM   #11
joe@cms
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

This can definately be acheived through the tune, as we can keep the boost level low and through other adjustments keep the power level at where you would like it to be.

Thanks.
joe@cms is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-07-2013, 12:18 AM   #12
Franco Cozzo
Misanthropist
Donating Member3
 
Franco Cozzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentry Victoria
Posts: 36,221
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

Thanks Joe, do these packages effect compression ratio by any chance?

I'm only pushing 125psi across all 6 cylinders with an AU Falcon head gasket, I think my rings are rooted.

Thanks much.
Franco Cozzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-07-2013, 09:29 AM   #13
joe@cms
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Default Re: CMS Stage 3 head 2a cam

When the heads are first installed they can tend to bump up the comp slightly, So if the engine has a few km's on it the rings probably are starting to suffer a bit.

Thanks.
joe@cms is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Other than what is legally copyrighted by the respective owners, this site is copyright www.fordforums.com.au
Positive SSL